Parts of Jackson County flood overnight

Hwy. X between Pete Coulee Road and Post Road were flooded after the July 20 strom after the area received heavy rains, causing French Creek to flood as it flowed towards the Trempealeau River.

Jordan Simonson, Jackson County Chronicle

Gov. Scott Walker recently announced a Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) major disaster declaration for 11 counties impacted by flooding in western Wisconsin in July. The counties included in the declaration are Buffalo, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Richland, Trempealeau and Vernon counties.

Severe storms moved across western Wisconsin from July 19-22. The heavy rains caused flash flooding and several rivers to rise to major flood stage. FEMA damage assessments showed more than $10 million in damage to public infrastructure in the region.

The major disaster declaration is for Public Assistance, which covers eligible projects submitted by counties, cities, towns and certain private, not-for-profit organizations. The program is not for businesses or homeowners.

Communities in the affected counties are now eligible for federal disaster assistance. They should contact their county emergency management director for further information. Under the program, FEMA provides 75 percent of eligible costs, while state and local agencies share the remaining 25 percent.

Contact information for county emergency management directors can be found at


Load comments