Titans dominate Westby to go undefeated in conference

Hunter Anderson works to pin his opponent in last Thursday's dual meet with Westby. Anderson would walk away from the match with a 10-1 major decision.

Mel-Min/G-E-T wrestlers are now 3-0 in the Coulee Conference after dominating the Westby Norsemen 61-9 last Thursday.

The Titans got off to a quick start beginning with forfeits at 195, 220 and 285 pounds. The team then added wins in the next four weights.

At 106, Kohl Linberg won with a 10–5 decision followed by Colton Sime’s 6–0 shutout at 113. Jack Marly (120) and Julian Purney (126) would add two first-period pins before the Norsemen got on the board with a 12-6 decision at 132.

The Titans, however, took control of the contest with wins in the next four weights. Hunter Anderson earned the meet’s only major decision with a 10-1 decision at 138 before Bryce Blaken (145) fought back from a 5-2 deficit to turn in a 6-5 win.

Jaden Anderson (152) and Will Johnson (160) added two more pins for the Titans before the Norsemen would score their second win of the meet at 170. Landon Lockington closed out the scoring for the Titans with a third-period pin in his 182-pound match.

“Forfeits certainly help a team score, and we’re fortunate that we’re still able to wrestle with a full squad, even when some of the guys are nursing injuries,” coach Ernie Brodsky said. “Blaken’s win at 145 was especially well done. He wrestled a very tough kid, and just kept swinging, as did all the guys when they went out on the mat.”

The Titans will send two teams into competition over the holidays. The Titans will compete at the La Crosse Civic Center in the Bi-State classic Dec. 29-30 for the first time since 1996. The tournament features 60 teams from Divisions I, II and III. Also on Friday, Mel-Min/G-E-T will send a dual meet team to compete for the first time in the Eau Claire Memorial Holiday Dual Meet Tournament to be held in Zorn Arena on the UW-Eau Claire campus. Wrestling in both tournaments is scheduled for 9:30 a.m.


Jackson County Chronicle editor

Load comments