Tomah's ace hurler lands all-MVC berth

2012-07-15T17:16:00Z Tomah's ace hurler lands all-MVC berthBy Steve Rundio, Editor La Crosse Tribune
July 15, 2012 5:16 pm  • 

Alex Thompson stepped up as the Tomah High School baseball team’s number-one pitcher and was recognized by the Mississippi Valley Conference.

Thompson was a second-team selection to the all-MVC squad. A junior, Thompson led the Timberwolves in innings pitched and was the winning pitcher in both of Tomah’s MVC victories.

“Alex Thompson was our ace, and he gave us the best chance to win when he was on the mound,” Tomah coach Matt Zieba said. “I think he has come a long way since last year. He was able to sit back and watch Alex Egstad last year and carry his own success over to this year.”

Thompson posted an earned run average below 3.00 and struck out 39 batters in 38 innings in MVC contests.

Juniors Vinny Pintarro and Jacob DuBord were honorable mention. Both hit over .300.

Pintarro played most of the season at first base.

“Vinny was easily our team leader in the infield directing traffic for bunts, pull hitters, and pitch selection,” Zieba said.

DuBord was the starting catcher and also pitched.

“Jake was our workhorse behind the plate,” Zieba said. “He would catch all seven innings and then not hesitate to steal a base or score from first. He just worked his tail off on every pitch.”

Seniors dominated the all-conference list. Nine of the 10 first-teamers were seniors.

The first team consisted of:

Taylor Kohlwey, senior, rightfield, Holmen.

Jay Voter, senior pitcher/infield, La Crosse Central.

Ryan Schreiner, senior, third base, La Crosse Logan.

 Joe Vike, senior, pitcher, Holmen.

Justin Fraser, senior, catcher, Holmen.

Torre Riek, senior, pitcher/outfield Logan.

Zach Stoflet, senior, outfield, Central.

Brian Paulsrud, senior, pitcher/infield, Central.

Rudy Rott, freshman, pitcher/first base, La Crosse Aquinas.

 Dylan Peterson, senior, third base/catcher, Onalaska.

Thompson was joined on the second team by:

Brock Rude, senior, pitcher/outfield, Holmen.

Jeran Kendall, sophomore, centerfield, Holmen.

Ryan Weber, junior, leftfield, Holmen.

Ryan Wesely, sophomore, third base, Holmen.

Carson Hackett, senior, outfield, Central.

Brandyn Baum, senior, infield, Central.

Chris Marx, senior, pitcher/shortstop, Aquinas.

Gabe Gale, senior, catcher/outfield, Aquinas.

Brandon Heal, senior, pitcher, Onalaska.

The rest of the honorable mention:

Clay Langan, senior, pitcher/shortstop, Sparta.

Tyler Lindner, junior, catcher, Sparta.

Brandon Knudtson, senior, second base/pitcher, Holmen.

Vic Berkley, senior, shortstop, Holmen.

Mitchell Schreiner, sophomore, outfield, Logan.

Jonah Waite, junior, shortstop, Logan.

Ben Faga, sophomore, pitcher/infield, Central.

Clay Gale, sophomore, catcher, Central.

Nate Beyer, senior, catcher/outfield, Aquinas.

Tim Miller, senior, pitcher/first base, Aquinas.

Dustin Gordon, junior, pitcher/outfield, Onalaska.

Adam Rude, senior, pitcher/outfield, Onalaska.

Holmen swept the three major awards. Kohlwey was the player of the year, Vike was the pitcher of the year, and Duane Vike was the coach of the year.

Copyright 2016 La Crosse Tribune. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick