HORTONVILLE, Wis. — CJ Siegel celebrated his 18th birthday with a 29-point performance Saturday in the Logan High School boys basketball team’s 64-62 nonconference victory over Hortonville.



Siegel, who is committed to playing football at North Dakota, made six 3-pointers and had 21 of his points six minutes into the game. The Polar Bears (2-1), however, hung around, and were within the final margin on the final possession. Devin Moran blocked Hortonville’s final shot to preserve the victory for the Rangers (1-0).

Onalaska 51, Chippewa Falls 49

ONALASKA — Noah Skifton scored a game-high 20 points to lead the Hilltoppers (1-0) past the Cardinals (1-2).

Noah Skifton MUG


Skifton, a senior, scored 13 points in the first half and made a late free throw to give Onalaska its two-point lead. Chippewa Falls held the ball the last 24 seconds, and Thomas Robarge’s attempt from the 3-point line as the buzzer sounded went off the backboard and rim to end the game.

Sophomore Carson Arenz added 18 with three 3-pointers and sophomore Tyrell Stuttley nine — all in the second half — for the Hilltoppers. Junior Tyler Robarge scored 20 to lead the Cardinals.


Reedsburg Duals

REEDSBURG, Wis. — Westby finished third and beat Logan/Central 51-27 in the third-place match.

Logan/Central went 2-3 and was led by Christian Kapanke (4-1, 152), Todd Werner (4-1, 160) and Robert Snodgrass (4-1, 285). The Norsemen were 3-2 and led by Gus Klum (4-1, 120), Austin Mowery (4-1, 138/145) and Weston Kabat (4-1, 220).

Ellsworth Invitational

ELLSWORTH, Wis. — Sparta finished second among 12 teams with 172½ points in a meet won by Ellsworth.

Jon Bailey (126), Brett Von Ruden (152), Hayden Krein (160) and Garet Pfaff (220) won championships for the Spartans, and David Hayes (145) and Mathias Krein (170) placed second.

Bailey decisioned Mora’s Ryan Nosbush — an MSHSL state quarterfinalist last season — 2-0 in his championship match.

Royall Invitational

ELROY, Wis. — Viroqua won the team championship with 191 points and crowned bracket champs in Josh Frye (113), Casey Leer (132), Ryan Hannah (145), Tyler Hannah (170) and Paul Nickelotti (182).

Owen Johnson (126) and Adam Rogge (138) were second for West Salem/Bangor, and Logan Shramek (160), Reed Guenther (195) and Braden Smith (220) placed second for fourth-place Blair-Taylor.

BRF Invitational

BLACK RIVER FALLS — Onalaska/Luther’s sixth-place finish was the best for local teams in a 15-team field.

Onalaska/Luther’s Adam Buege recorded two pins and beat Durand’s Kyle Abramson 3-0 at 285 to become the only local champion, and teammate Zach Udermann finished second at 182.

Josh Goldsmith (152) and Ethan Osley (220) placed second for the Black River Falls co-op.



Central Wisconsin 6, Onalaska co-op 0

WAUSAU, Wis. — The Storm (2-3) broke a scoreless tie with two second-period goals, then put the game away with four in the third. Claire Bekkum recorded 34 saves for the Onalaska co-op (2-2).



Fond du Lac Springs 5, Aquinas co-op 0

ONALASKA — Brady Welsch scored twice in the first period to lead the Ledgers (4-0), who outshot Aquinas 38-31.

Senior goalie Ben King made 33 saves for Aquinas (3-1).

Austin 5, La Crescent 2

LA CRESCENT — Jacob Hallback-Kettner put the Lancers (0-3) in good position to secure their first win when he netted two first-period goals. Austin (1-1), however, scored the next five thanks to a hat trick from Jackson Dankert.

Gavin Christianson had 46 saves for La Crescent.


Chippewa Falls Invitational

CHIPPEWA FALLS, Wis. — Logan/Central placed seventh out of nine teams with 183 points. Will Hoeth led the way with a third-place finish in the 500-yard freestyle (5:59.07).

O/H/A finished fourth with 259 points.


Assistant Sports Editor

Todd Sommerfeldt has covered sports for the La Crosse Tribune since 2003 after doing the same previously in the Fox Cities and Rock County.