Trevor Shutter

Trevor Shutter wraps up a La Crosse Logan ballcarrier during a Mississippi Valley Conference contest.

Trevor Shutter played only 5 ½ Mississippi Valley Conference games, but that was all MVC coaches needed to see.

Shutter, a senior defensive tackle, was rewarded for his run-stuffing ability with a first-team selection to the MVC all-conference team.

A three-year letterwinner, Shutter led the team in tackles with 59 despite leaving the La Crosse Aquinas game with a second half injury and missing the finale against La Crosse Central.

During the season, Tomah coach Brad Plueger described Shutter as a player who approached with football high intensity and consistent sportsmanship. He played both sides of the football and won the team’s “top rock” award as Tomah’s top defensive lineman.

Plueger said Shutter was the team’s “hardest hitter.”

“I can guarantee nobody wanted to be hit by him or have him land on you,” Plueger said.

Shutter also had two tackles for loss and one fumble recovery.

The Timberwolves had two players make the second team. Kyle Kroener was picked as a wide receiver, and Nate Hausman was picked as an offensive lineman.

Kroener, a three-year letterwinner, led the team in receptions (32), receiving yards (578) and touchdown receptions (seven). He was also the team’s primary kickoff and punt returner. Plueger called him a “game-changing” receiver.

Hausman, a left tackle, graded out as the team’s best offensive lineman and “did everything for us,” Plueger said, including punting, kickoffs and playing defensive end.

Running back Isaac Klema and defensive back Trey Gnewikow were honorable mention.

Klema was Tomah’s top rusher with 900 yards and led the team in touchdowns with 12.

Gnewikow tied for the team lead in interceptions with three, recovered two fumbles and was third in tackles with 54.

Holmen senior Drew Becker was the offensive player of the year, outside linebacker Christian Kapanke of La Crosse Logan was the defensive player of the year and Kyle Burkhardt of Holmen was the lineman of the year.

Becker and Burkhardt were joined on the first team offense by:

C.J. Siegel, senior, receiver, Logan; Noah Skifton, senior, quarterback, Onalaska; Ryan Beirne, senior, quarterback, West Salem; Brendan Holt, junior, running back, West Salem; Greg Kohler, senior, receiver, Central; Bryce Lee, junior, lineman, Aquinas; Caleb Butler, junior, lineman, Holmen; Parker Clark, senior, lineman, Onalaska; John Glassmaker, junior, lineman, West Salem; Beirne, kicker/punter.

Joining Shutter, Kapanke and Burkhardt on the first-team defense:

Brendan Holt, junior, outside linebacker, West Salem; Craig Newsome Jr., senior, back, Holmen; Tate Grass, junior, lineman, Holmen; John Glassmaker, junior, lineman, West Salem; Abe Molling, senior, outside linebacker, Holmen; Nathan Lubinsky, sophomore, inside linebacker, Onalaska; Matt Bigley, senior, inside linebacker, West Salem; Garrett Olson, senior, back, Logan; Ryan Beirne, senior, back, West Salem.

Kroener and Hausman were joined on the second-team offense by: Johnny Davis, sophomore, quarterback, Central; Cole Wisniewski, sophomore, quarterback, Sparta; Mitch Torud, senior, running back, Holmen; Nathan Lubinsky, sophomore, running back, Onalaska; Zach Lueth, senior, receiver, Central; Landon Skemp, senior, receiver, Onalaska; Connor Miller, junior, lineman, Central; Jack Westcott, senior, lineman, Holmen; Austin Hayes, senior, lineman, Onalaska; Evan Rowe, senior, lineman,West Salem.

The second team defense: Bryce Lee, junior, lineman, Aquinas; Alex Duren, senior, lineman, Onalaska; Christian Oliver, senior, outside linebacker, Onalaska; Eddie Miller, senior, inside linebacker, Central; Seth Hauser, senior, inside linebacker, Holmen; Ambrose Metz-Beard, senior, inside linebacker, Logan; Bryce Edwards, junior, inside linebacker, Sparta; Ethan Olson, junior, inside linebacker, West Salem; Donovan Stevens, senior, back, Central; Noah Skifton, senior, back, Onalaska; Greg Jacobs, senior, back, Sparta; Joe Wopat, junior, back, West Salem.

The rest of the honorable mention: Nick Cambio, senior, running back, Aquinas; Trenton Foreman, junior, receiver, West Salem; Gunnar Parcher, senior, tight end, Logan; Keegan Savor, senior, tight end, Sparta; Logan Aleckson, senior, tight end, West Salem; Sam Cornforth, senior. offensive line, Holmen; Jared Verdon, senior, offensive line, Onalaska; Gabe Dearman, senior, offensive line, Sparta; Jacob Servais, junior, outside linebacker, Central; Ryan Mutzner, senior, outside linebacker, Holmen; A.C. Riley, junior, inside linebacker, Central; Damond Butler, junior, inside linebacker, Logan; Conley Malone, senior, defensive back, Aquinas; Carter Melby, senior, defensive back, Onalaska.

Tom Yashinsky of Onalaska was named coach of the year.


Steve Rundio is editor of the Tomah Journal. Contact him at 608-374-7785.

Load comments