Ballot nisse

Nomination papers for the April 3, spring election throughout Vernon County begin circulating on Friday, Dec. 1. The final day for nomination papers to be filed was Tuesday, Jan. 2.

Westby School Board of Education

Both incumbent members of the Westby Area School Board of Education up for re-elections, David Eggen, Westby Attendance Area Seat 3 and Andy Lipski, At-Large Representative are facing challenges. School Board of Education candidates had to file declaration papers at the Westby Area School District Office or with Westby School Board of Education Clerk Robert Kerska by 5 p.m., Tuesday, Jan. 2 to be listed on the April 3 ballot. School board terms are three years.

David Eggen


Eggen will be challenged by Craig Johnson and Denise Grass of Westby. With three candidates vying for Seat 3 the school district will need to hold a primary election to narrow the field to two. The primary election will be held on Tuesday, Feb. 20.

Incumbent Andy Lipski is being challenged by Mark Hendrickson of Westby. With only two candidates running no primary is necessary for the At-Large Representative seat.


In the city of Westby, three, two-year alderman seats are also up for re-election: Mark Hendrickson, District 1, Ward 1; Russell Haakenson, District 2, Wards 2 and 4; and Ricky Rognstad, District 3, Wards 3 and 5.

Incumbents Rognstad and Hendrickson filed declaration papers to remain on the board, while Haakenson resigned as alderman for Wards 2 and 4 in December and no one filed nomination papers to fill the vacancy.

Coon Valley

In the village of Coon Valley, three, two-year village board seats are up for re-election. The three trustees positions up for re-election are currently held by Lanae Nickelotti, Michael Lee and Janie Starkey.

Incumbents, Nickelotti and Starkey, both filed non-candidacy papers, while former Village Board President Rick Stegan and Coon Valley resident Jon Lee both filed declaration paperwork to join the board. Incumbent Michael Lee also turned in his nomination papers to retain hi seat on the board.


In the village of Chaseburg the two-year term for Trustee Dan Watson expires in April. A town caucus for the nomination of candidates to be listed on the April spring election ballot was held Jan. 8, 2018, at the Chaseburg Village Hall. Watson declared his non-candidacy and three people were nominated for the position, Mason Ostrem, Michael Miller and Randy Lenser. As of press time none of the three nominees had accepted the nomination.

The general spring election will be held on Tuesday, April 3, 2018. The school district primary election will be held on Tuesday, Feb. 20. The new term for elected positions begins on Tuesday, April 17, 2018.


Westby Times editor

Dorothy Robson is editor of the Westby Times. Contact her at 608-637-5625.

Load comments