It’s a tossup as to who was more excited after Westby hosted the WIAA Division 2 Sectional meet on Saturday, Oct. 21. You might have thought it was the entire Norse girls team or senior Hayden Fredrickson who all advanced to the state meet this weekend in Wisconsin Rapids, but in actuality it was probably the Westby coaches who were simply elated at the Westby runners overall performances.

Head Coach Brian Huebner said he felt confident going into the meet that the girls team had the talent to make it as a whole and that Fredrickson would make it individually, but until the final numbers were posted he tried not to let his inner excitement get the best of him. But after the results were posted, coaches, Huebner and David Nelson couldn’t stop smiling knowing this year marks the sixth straight year that the Westby girls’ cross-country team has advanced to the state meet and a decade of some form of Westby representation at the state level. The Westby boys team have also participated at state three times in the past 10 years.

“Our kids did exceptional. Every runner who advanced has participated at state before and interestingly enough we have 17 years of experience going into the meet if you add all of the kids years of experience running at that level,” Huebner said.


Westby runners go into each meet they participate in with a goal. The girls team had a goal of scoring 60 points. The reached that goal with two points to spare finishing second with 58 points. Wisconsin Dells won the race with 40 points. The top two teams advance to state.

Individually for Westby: 5th, Abbey Wedwick 19:58 8th, Sydney Sherry 20:34 13th, Elena Schmidt 20:52 15th, Justice Franks 21:03 17th, Julianne Call 21:09 22nd, Erinn Sebion 21:30 and 35th, Lexi Crume 22:33.

After the race team members commented on their own excitement. Wedwick said just knowing that the team has another shot at state was wonderful. Schmidt said what more could she ask for than being able to compete at state all four years of her high school career. Crume said the team has worked hard all year and feels honored to advance. Sebion said we knew what we had to do and we did it. Franks said she was glad to be running with a great team. Call was simply excited, Sherry said it was an amazing feeling, while they all agreed that advancing to state after hosting the Sectional on its home course was icing on the cake.


The Westby boys team finished in eighth place with 176 points. La Crosse Logan won the meet with 66 points, followed by G-E-T with 96 points. Both Logan and G-E-T teams advanced to state.

Fredrickson won the individual crown with a time of 16:12, to advance to the state meet. Individually for Westby: 25th, Kade Sherry 18:10 36th, John Lucas 18:42 46th, Derek Helgerson 19:00 68th, Griffin Grass 19:44 69th, Kooper Lipski 19:45 and 71st, Kin Hamilton 19:50.

The boys team goal was to have four runners faster than 19 minutes and all of our runners under 20 minutes. The boys accomplished both parts of the goal.

Fredrickson said he had a case of nerves going into the meet knowing he was competing against Miguel Mathias, who finished in second place. His strategy was to make a surge at the one mile mark, a strategy that worked and earned him the sectional crown.

“My legs were heavy when I started but improved as the race continued. I took a gamble with my surge strategy, but thankfully it worked,” Fredrickson said.

Huebner said the runners are healthy running our best right now so I am confident great things are going to happen when we get to Wisconsin Rapids.

The WIAA State Cross-country championships will be held on Saturday, Oct. 28, at Ridges Golf Course in Wisconsin Rapids. The Westby girls team competes at 1:20 p.m. and Fredrickson competes at 3:10 p.m.




Team scores (top two advance to state): Logan 66, G-E-T 96, Sparta 123, Nekoosa/Port Edwards 133, West Salem 144, Arcadia 156, Mauston 162, Westby 176, Wisconsin Dells 210, Colby/Abbotsford 249, Viroqua 284, Altoona 288, Neillsville 326, Black River Falls 345, Adams-Friendship 416.

Individual champion: Hayden Fredrickson (W) 16:12.4.

Individual State Qualifiers: Fredrickson (W) 16:12.4, Miguel Mathias (N/PE) 16:17.2, Ramon Romero (A) 16:19.7, Charlie McKinney (WS) 16:27.9, Matt Roth (C/A) 17:03.1.

LOGAN: 8, Zach Slevin 17:17.4 12, Dylan Mitchell 17:38.3 14, Keoni Young 17:45.8 15, James Duffrin 17:45.9 17, Tracy Bye 17:48.7 G-E-T: 5, Doug Feyen 16:44.4 10, Josh Jumbeck 17:28.8 16, Riley Kirkey 17:47.6 21, Blake Johnson 18:03.5 44, Jayden Campbell 18:56.3 SPARTA: 13, Ethan Anderson 17:42.6 20, Gunnar Schmitz 17:58.9 23, Chad Merow 18:08.1 27, Izak Anderson 18:14.8 40, Nick Strichko 18:50.1 WEST SALEM: 4, McKinney 16:27.9 7, Brady Niemeier 17:10.4 32, Andrew Murphy 18:36.0 45, Carson Mooney 18:56.4 56, Jeff Krueger 19:17.0 ARCADIA: 3, Romero 16:19.7 24, Marshall Nelson 18:08.2 39, Kaden Liskowski 18:50.1 43, James Ziegeweid 18:53.6 47, Kyle Motszko 19:01.4 WESTBY: 1, Fredrickson 16:12.4 25, Kade Sherry 18:10.8 36, John Lucas 18:42.1 46, Derek Helgerson 19:00.5 68, Griffin Grass 19:44.1 VIROQUA: 35, Michael Stuber 18:39.3 48, Andrew Quackenbush 19:02.7 52, Joshua Frye 19:11.7 73, Aaron Dobbs 19:57.4 76, Henry Roels 20:06.7 BLACK RIVER FALLS: 41, Kobe Nichols 18:50.4 49, John Kramer 19:07.1 78, Stephen Redbird 20:25.3 87, Caleb Marecek 21:25.3 90, Matthew Becker 21:39.5


Team scores (top two advance to state): Wisconsin Dells 40, Westby 58, Mauston 102, Viroqua 130, Logan 143, West Salem 145, Neillsville 203, Arcadia 220, Colby/Abbotsford 234, G-E-T 245, Altoona 274, Sparta 329, Adams-Friendship 339, Nekoosa/Port Edwards 413.

Individual champion: Dana Feyen (GET) 17:53.6.

Individual state qualifiers: Feyen (GET) 17:52.6, Journey Malacina (M) 19:49.4 Chloee Lowry (N) 20:16.6, Kate Schroeder (WS) 20:34.5, Greta Trapp (L) 20:41.7

WESTBY: 5, Abby Wedwick 19:58.0 8, Sydney Sherry 20:34.5 13, Elena Schmidt 20:52.1 15, Justice Franks 21:03.2 17, Julianne Call 21:09.1 VIROQUA: 18, Jillian Weston 21:23.3 21, Lauren Brendel 21:28.9 28, Josephine Dobbs 21:54.9 31, Katrina Koppa 22:04.3 32, Caitlin Fox 22:05.8 LOGAN: 10, Trapp 20:41.7 14, Marlie Voigt 20:53.6 30, Lieba Schwalbe 21:59.7 40, Avery Trohkimoinen 22:47.4 49, Megan Abraham 23:11.2 WEST SALEM: 9, Schroeder 20:34.5 20, Kylie Wright 21:27.3 33, Elizabeth Korn 22:11.2 39, Hannah Caulum 22:47.3 44, Emily Brueggeman ARCADIA: 23, Mercedes Romo 21:30.8 27, Isabel Myers 21:46.7 46, Rylee Kolstad 23:05.4 61, Avrie Marsolek 24:24.1 63, Nicole Sendelbach 24:33.8 G-E-T: 1, Feyen 17:53.6 42, Rachel Amoth 22:58.4 56, Mackenzie O’Neill 23:40.8 70, Claire Corcoran 25:37.9 76, Delaney Applin 26:18.2 SPARTA: 37, Karli O’Rourke 22:41.7 55, Lydia Hone 23:40.0 64, Rorie Marx 24:45.3 86, Abigail Hone 32:11.8 87, Alyssa Falkner 35:25.1


Dorothy Robson is editor of the Westby Times. Contact her at 608-637-5625.

Load comments