Wrestling: Jack Lipski

At 170 pounds, Jack Lipski (Westby) pinned Silas Cleveland (Black River Falls/Lincoln) in 1:26.

The Norsemen wrestled past Black River Falls/Lincoln (BRFL) winning 58-24 in action on Friday, Jan. 5. The match didn’t see much competition on the mat with a total of nine forfeits in 14 weight divisions. BRFL forfeited a total of six matches, while Westby forfeited its three heavier weight matches.

Rob Kirner the Westby Varsity Wrestling Head Coach said it’s tough when so many weight classes are forfeits, but the team stays competitive in practice and the guys work hard.

“All of the guys who had a match wrestled well, had great matches and were very aggressive,” Kirner said.

The meet started at 170 pounds with two Norsemen wrestlers recording pins. Jack Lipski (W) didn’t waste any time pinning Silas Cleveland in 1:26 and at 182, Conor Vatland (W) pinned Kaleb Dobson in 3:32. Vatland was impressive in his win, dominating his opponent despite giving up 10 pounds to Dobson.

Westby gave up its next three matches (18 points) by forfeit at the 195, 220 and 285 pound bouts. At 195, Asia Rave (BRFL); 220, Sean Johnson (BRFL); and 285: Ethan Osley (BRFL) all won.

BRFL forfeited its next three matches to Westby at 106, 113 and 120 giving up 18 points. At 106, Trevor Lemke (W); 113, Logan Turben (W) and at 120, Dallas Geier (W) all won.

Wrestling resumed at 126 pounds with Dakota Bakkestuen (W) winning a major decision over Dakota Ledebuhr (BRFL) 11-3. It was the only bout of the night to go the distance.

BRFL then forfeited its next three matches at 132, 138 and 145, giving up 18 points to Westby. At 132, McKittrick (W); 138, Austin Mowery (W); and 145, Ryan Knight (W) all won their matches.

The Tigers picked up their only true wrestling points of the match at 152 pounds. Josh Goldsmith (BRFL) pinned Grant Fremstad (W) in the second period. Fremstad fell in 2:25, to the Tigers best wrestler of the season.

The final match of the night at 160 pounds was finished in short order when Justin Erdman (W) pinned Noah O Brien in 24 seconds giving Westby the 58-24 win.

Kickapoo JV Meet


Several Westby Reserve wrestlers participated at Kickapoo in the Lee Griffin Invitational on Saturday, Jan. 6.

  • 106: First Place, Trevor Lemke of Westby Reserves pinned Dalton Kehoe (Hillsboro) in 3:14.
  • 113: Second Place, Logan Turben of Westby Reserves was pinned by Max Schmidt (Richland Center) in 1:17.
  • 120: Third Place, Mitchell McKittrick of Westby Reserves pinned Cameron Huntley (Hillsboro) in 0:44.
  • 138: Fourth Place, John Lucas of Westby Reserves pinned by Alex Scoville (De Soto) in 1:19.
  • 152: Third Place, Grant Fremstad of Westby Reserves pinned Cody Krueger (Kickapoo-La Farge) in 2:30.

Westby travels to West Salem on Jan. 9 and host its own duals on Saturday, Jan. 13


Westby Times editor

Dorothy Robson is editor of the Westby Times. Contact her at 608-637-5625.

Load comments