Election Day is Nov. 6, and Vernon County residents will help decide the outcomes in local, state and county elections.

In the governor/lieutenant governor race, the following are on the ballot: Scott Walker/Rebecca Kleefisch (Republican); Tony Evers/Mandela Barnes (Democratic); Phillip Anderson/Patrick Baird (Libertarian); Michael J. White/Tiffany Anderson (Wisconsin Green); Maggie Turnbull/Wil Losch (Independent); and Arnie Enz /No Candidate (The Wisconsin Party).

In the attorney general race, Brad Schimel (Republican), Josh Kaul (Democratic) and Terry Larson (Constitution) are on the ballot.

In the race for Secretary of State, Jay Schroeder is the Republican candidate and Doug La Follette is the Democratic candidate.

On the ballot for State Treasurer are Travis Hartwig (Republican), Sarah Godlewski (Democratic) and Andrew Zuelke (Constitution).

Running for United States Senator are Republican Leah Vukmir and Democrat Tammy Baldwin.

On the ballot for Congress District 3 are Republican Steve Toft and Democrat Ron Kind.

In the race for Assembly District 96 are Republican Loren Oldenburg and Democrat Paul Buhr.

At the county level, Republicans Sheriff John Spears, Coroner Betty Nigh and Clerk of Circuit Court Sheila Olson are on the ballot unopposed.

Countywide advisory referendum

There will be a countywide advisory “Dark Stores” referendum. A copy of entire text of the resolution directing the submission of the question can be obtained from the Vernon County Clerk’s office.

VAS District referendum

In the Viroqua Area School District, residents will vote “yes” or “no” on a $36.8 million bond referendum to fund a range of renovations and new construction at all three district schools.

“We the People” amendment

Wisconsin residents in nine communities will vote on whether to amend the U.S. Constitution to clarify that only humans should have constitutional rights and that money is not the same as speech and political spending can be limited to allow all Americans to participate in the democratic process.

Voters will cast ballots in Jackson, Sauk and Wood counties, the villages of Readstown, Westfield and Weston, and the towns of Kickapoo, Rib Mountain and Vermont.

If all vote in favor, 142 Wisconsin communities will have called for the “We the People” amendment.

For more information about the 2018 general election, including voting locations and ballot information, visit myvote.wi.gov. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Angela Cina can be reached at angie.cina@lee.net.


Vernon County Broadcaster editor

Angie Cina is editor of the Vernon County Broadcaster. Contact her at 608-637-5616.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thanks for reading. Subscribe or log in to continue.

Already a subscriber?
Log in or Activate your account.