You are the owner of this article.
Vernon County Board has one contested seat on spring ballot

Vernon County Board has one contested seat on spring ballot

Wisconsin voters will gather at the polls across the state this spring with a mix of local, state and national issues on the ballot for April 7.

Along with local elections, voters can expect to can expect to cast a vote for their party’s candidate for the 2020 presidential election, and a State Supreme Court justice.

A primary will be held on Feb. 18 for the State Supreme Court races.

Vernon County BoardThis spring, there is one contested race for Vernon County Board. Incumbent Justin Running, who represents District 15, is being challenged by Alicia L. Leinberger.

Jim Servais, who represents District 5, is not seeking re-election. Kyle Semke filed papers to run for that seat.

The other candidates, all of whom are incumbents, are District 1 Will Beitlich, District 2 David Strudthoff, District 3 JoAnn Nickelatti, District 4 Mary Rae, District 6 Lorn Goede, District 7 Mary Bringe, District 8 Rod Ofte, District 9 Cary Joholski, District 10 David Eggen, District 11 Garrick Olerud, District 12 Eric Evenstad, District 13 Dennis Brault, District 14 Kevin Larson, District 16 Alycann Taylor, District 17 Mary L. Henry, District 18 Roger Call, District 19 Mike Leis, District 20 Adrian Amelse, District 21 Darrel Clark, District 22 Frank Easterday, District 23 Ole Yttri, District 24 Glenda Sullivan, District 25 Gail Muller, District 26 Dave Williams, District 27 Kelli Mitchell, District 28 Kay Stanek and District 29 Shawn Redington.

Viroqua School BoardIn the Viroqua Area School District, incumbents Amanda Running and Matt Tubbin are running unopposed.

Viroqua City Council

In the city of Viroqua, all of the incumbents are running unopposed. The spring ballot includes Karen Mischel, mayor; Gregory Splinter, Ward 2; Tanja Birke, Ward 4; Cyndy Hubbard, Ward 6; and Sondra Naxi, Ward 8.

Municipal judge

Nikki C. Swayne is running for municipal judge, serving the village of La Farge, village of Cashton, city of Viroqua and city of Westby. Incumbent Brian S. Ekern filed non-candidacy papers.

Most Wisconsin voters must show an acceptable photo ID when voting at the polls on Election Day or by absentee ballot. Detailed information on Photo ID and the exceptions to the law can be found at

Angela Cina can be reached at


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Vernon County Broadcaster editor

Angie Cina is editor of the Vernon County Broadcaster. Contact her at 608-637-5616.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News