The Westby Area Middle School National Junior Honor Society inducted 39 new members during its annual ceremony on Monday, May 21, at 7 p.m., in the Westby Area Performing Arts Center.

In order to be inducted into National Junior Honor Society, a seventh grade student must have maintained a 93 percent over three quarters and an eighth grade student must have maintained a 92.5 percent over seven quarters. These students must also demonstrate qualities of leadership, scholarship, character and service to others.

The current National Junior Honor Society members are Natalie Benish, Molly Forgues, Gretchen Frydenlund, Evan Gluch, Cale Griffin, Ty Harbaugh, Genevieve Haugen, Genevieve Henline, Ella Johnson, Tayah Johnson, Owen Kjos, Finley Konrad, Elias Larrington, Verity Rose Amour Latoja, Bianca Nelson, Kristi Nelson, Hannah Pedretti, Jhett Sherry, Taylor Thunstedt and Autumn Ward.

The new National Junior Honor Society inductees are Lukas Hanson, Lillian Stewart, Eva Augenstein, Jayda Berg, Kennedy Brueggen, Lane Fisher, Hallie Fleming, Daniel Frydenlund, Ethan Gartner, Easton Grass, McKendra Hansen, Whitney Hanson, Jascelyn Hendrickson, Denali Huebner, Elijah Jepsen, Audra Johnson, Aubrey Jothen, Madalyn Komay, Brody Konrad, Austin Kreuzer, Ezekiel Larrington, Abby Leis, Montana Lindahl, Makayla Manke, Elise Martine, Bo Milutinovich, Olivia Nedland, Hanna Nelson, Kari Ofte, Gabrielle Olson, Sophia Paduano, Ethan Pederson, Bethany Roethel, Victoria Sandvick, Alana Simonson, Rachel Simonson, Mackenzie Stellner, Sylvia Thompson and Garrett Vatland.

Amber Coe is the faculty advisor of the National Junior Honor Society at Westby Area Middle School. The NJHS students conjoin with the middle school Eighth Grade Leadership Group, led by Hannah Schulz, to create the Students of Westby Advisory Group. The main function of this group is to lead a service project and provide a voice for the middle school student body. During the 2017—2018 school year they purchased $600 worth of items for families in need in Vernon County and raised $1644.00 for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital. They are also purchasing and painting benches for the middle school playground. The new inductees are looking forward to joining the advisory group and establishing their role as servant leaders in the school and community.


Westby Times editor

Dorothy Robson is editor of the Westby Times. Contact her at 608-637-5625.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thanks for reading. Subscribe or log in to continue.

Already a subscriber?
Log in or Activate your account.