Spring elections will be held April 2 in Westby, Coon Valley and Chaseburg.

Westby Area School District Board members for Seats 2, 4, and 7 are all running unopposed and a primary is unnecessary.

Incumbents are Robert Kerska, representing the Coon Valley attendance area, Daniel Kotek, the Westby attendance area, and Eric Thunstedt, at-large representative.

Westby Mayor Danny Helgerson is seeking re-election and is running unopposed.

Westby City Council members seeking re-election and running unopposed are Katie Helseth, Wards 3 and 5; and Ann Kurth, Wards 2 and 5.

Brad Mashak is not seeking re-election and Mark Jelinek is running unopposed for his first term to represent Ward 1; no primary is necessary.

In Coon Valley, running for village board president are the incumbent Karl Henrichsen and Richard Stegen, currently a board trustee.

There are three positions open for village trustee. Running unopposed for two of them are Gary Keuser and incumbent Roger Niedfeldt; no primary is necessary.

Running unopposed for re-election in Chaseburg are Village President Ken Bluske and Village Trustee Tom Heller; no primary is necessary.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sahnje McGonigle can be reached at Sahnje.McGonigle@lee.net.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thanks for reading. Subscribe or log in to continue.

Already a subscriber?
Log in or Activate your account.