Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Mississippi State offering scholarship aid to top Scouts

  • 0

Mississippi State has announced a new scholarship program to honor students who already have achieved the highest honors of the Boy Scouts of America and Girl Scouts of the USA.

Mississippi residents who have achieved the levels of Eagle Scout or Gold Award, respectively, are being encouraged to apply for a one-time, $1,000 scholarship.

Students meeting all of the requirements will receive $500 for the fall and spring semesters, according to the university.

"The ranks of Eagle Scouts and Gold Award winners are among the most recognized and prestigious achievements in American society," said university President Robert H. "Doc" Foglesong.

"With these new scholarships, Mississippi State formally acknowledges the many hours of very hard work each young man and woman completed to reach this high goal."

Entering freshman applicants also must have a high school grade-point average of at least 2.5, based on a 4.0 scale.

Community college transfers must have completed at least 48 hours of acceptable course credit toward an MSU bachelor's degree, also with a minimum 2.5 GPA.

Foglesong said the Eagle Scout/Gold Award scholarships are provided in addition to any other scholastic award for which the students may qualify.

Bachelor's degree

Joshua Gronvold of Olive Branch was among 650 graduates who received diplomas in commencement exercises at Harding University in May. Gronvold majored in general studies and received a bachelor of arts degree.

2 on list

Two Olive Branch residents have been named to the President's List at the University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg.

They are Whitney Lauren Earnest and Angela Diane Irons. To be named to the list, students must be full-time with a perfect 4.0 grade-point average.


Edward Burris Eldred graduated in May from the Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences in Kansas City, Mo.

Eldred, a graduate of Southaven High School, received a doctor of osteopathic medicine degree at Kansas. He also holds an MBA in healthcare leadership from Rockhurst University in Kansas City. He will begin a family medicine residency program at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson in July. After his residence, he plans to seek a fellowship in sports medicine in Jackson.

Eldred is the son of Mr. and Mrs. John Eldred of Nesbit and son-in-law of Dr. and Mrs. Randy Huling of Southaven. He is married to the former Melissa Huling of Southaven.

On Dean's List

Kristen M. Briglia of Olive Branch and Laura C. May of Southaven have been named to the Dean's List at Mississippi College in Clinton. They were required to maintain a 3.5 grade-point average or better on a 4.0 system.

Joseph Able Kuykendall of Olive Branch and Rebecca L. Grice of Southaven were named to the Presiden't List at Mississippi College with a 4.0 grade-point aver5age.

16 students listed

Sixteen DeSoto County college students have received academic recognition for their work at Delta State University in Cleveland.

Named to the President's List with a 3.80 to 4.0 grade-point average were Amanda N. Stallings, Olive Branch; Sarah E. Eads and Kathline N. Foster, Hernando; Megan L. Burger and Robert H. Johnston, Nesbit; and Laura E. Blood and Sallee Williams, Southaven. Named to the Dean's List with a 3.50 to 3.79 grade-point average were Megan E. Christiansen, Megan W. Morgan and Lance P. Vaughn of Olive Branch; Charles Hildebrant, Hernando; Thomas S. MacMillan, Nesbit; and Dana F. Gilbert, Lori S. Thompson, Melissa K. Wilkes and Cory Wright, Southaven.

Overton attends class

James Overton, an instructor at Northwest Mississippi Community College, was a member of a group of educators who spent two days at the University of Mississippi learning "Pro Engineer and 3-D Computer Aided Design software. Those who completed the course were licensed to install the software on computers at their school.

Top town

The May edition of Kiplinger's Personal Finance has rated Hattiesburg as one of the nation's top college towns for its livability, due in part to the many benefits associated with The University of Southern Mississippi.

Hattiesburg was rated among the magazine's "Top Ten Towns For Grownups" as part of an article titled "Attractions of a College Town," focusing on the interests of persons 40 and older.

According to the article, college towns are attractive because of the energy that their colleges and universities infuse into the community through "culture, creativity and a love of learning."

The magazine touted Southern Miss' art and culture attractions, including its symphony orchestra and its ability to attract world-class performers such as Placido Domingo, Yo-Yo Ma and Itzhak Perlman, among others.

"Hattiesburg is a great place to live, regardless of one's age, and The University of Southern Mississippi is a big part of that reality," said Bob Pierce, director of the Southern Miss Alumni Association.

"Southern Miss alumni are moving back to Hattiesburg all the time to be near the institution they love, and other adults obviously see the advantages the city has to offer and are moving here to enjoy the benefits of living in such a great college city."

The article also cited the university's Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, which provides educational, recreational and entertainment opportunities for mature adults age 50 and older.

Members of the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute receive the same advantages as students at the university.

Lists released

The University of Mississippi has listed a number of DeSoto County students on its Dean's and President's lists.

Dean's List

Olive Branch

Bridgett R. Crawley, Ava E. Hall, Kayla R. James, Andrew J. Jouben, Julia A. Nappi, Charles H. Noble, Latonya R. Peterson, Margaret A. Pittman, Amber N. Smith, Ryan M. Stevenson, Robert J. Thomas, Christine E. Tolleson


Melissa P. Donald, Megan L. Dorris, Danielle L. Hood, Jamie M. Hurdle, Margaret E. Jenkins, Julie K. Nelson, Gary W. Weasel

Horn Lake

Christopher S. Taylor


Ross G. Lockwood, Julia T. McElroy, John R. Whitehead


Leann P. Kelley, Jessica F. Moore, Benjamin D. Stewart

Lake Cormorant

Christopher W. Bruton


Olive Branch

Austin T. Barnes, Jeffrey B. Cannon, Anthony P. Carter, Abigail T. Dees, Stacey N. Denman, Edward M. Easley, Daniel L. Harper, Lindsey E. Harris, Jessica R. Harry, Jordan R. Jones, Steven P. Kelley, Amber L. McClure, Calvin J. Morris, Chad H. Picciotti, Lialah S. Putman, Elizabeth L. Snyder


Brittany N. Fiester, Michael C. Ray

Horn Lake

Zachary H. Bugg, Bradley G. Reaves


Mary B. Chrestman, Brian E. Denton, Rebekah J. Jones, Joseph P. Sullivan, Shannon M. Summers


Sarah B. Davidson


Michael A. Berryhill, Randall G. King


Brittany A. Bowles


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News