Watch now: Tribune Extra Effort Awards honor 23 La Crosse area students
topical featured

Watch now: Tribune Extra Effort Awards honor 23 La Crosse area students

  • 0

This has been a challenging year for high school seniors, but for the La Crosse Tribune Extra Effort Awards class of 2020, challenges are nothing new.

You’ve read their stories in the Tribune — stories of courage and resilience, determination and hope.

As a class, they’ve endured unstable upbringing, overwhelming medical problems, the loss of loved ones, learning disabilities and other problems that seem so serious for people so young.

But they have found the will to succeed.

For the 24th consecutive year, the Tribune has honored area seniors who have overcome obstacles and provided exemplary service to their communities.

This year, we couldn’t bring them together to celebrate with family and educators — an emotional, gratifying experience.

But if the kids can overcome challenges, so can the rest of us.

This spring, thanks to the generosity of our sponsors and partners, we’ve pulled together a virtual La Crosse Tribune Extra Effort Awards program.

Each of the 23 students received a minimum $1,000 scholarship — and the total exceeded $50,000.

Complete list of 2019-20 Extra Effort Award winners

The La Crosse Tribune Extra Effort Awards honor seniors in our area who have been chosen by their high schools for their perseverance and dedication to overcoming obstacles or providing exemplary service to the community.

As original partners in our 23-year-old program, the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, Viterbo University and Western Technical College continue to provide scholarship support and host a year-end reception for winners, their families and area educators.

In addition, the list of scholarship contributors continues to grow as the inspiring stories of Extra Effort winners bring more generosity from our community.

Donors include Johns, Flaherty & Collins; the La Crosse Community Foundation through its General Fund, Randy Smith Leadership Fund, Neil P. Hengst Scholarship Fund and Robert and Eleanor Franke Charitable Fund; the Mitchell/Kruck Scholarship, and the American Association of University Women, La Crosse chapter; Trust Point; Fred and Ruth Kurtz of Onalaska; Mary Jo and Shawn Werner, town of Campbell; Jerry Raddatz of Winona, Minn.; Marine Credit Union; and the La Crosse Tribune.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News