Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Western wisconsin farmers may seek emergency loans from the U.S. Department of Agriculture for losses caused in the mid-April blizzard.

The disaster designation by the Farm Service Agency administrator means that low-interest emergency loans are available to farmers who had severe physical losses from snow and high winds during the April 13-15 storm.

Counties included in the disaster designation are: Dunn, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe and Trempealeau.

In addition, eligible farmers in counties bordering the disaster counties may also receive loans, including Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Eau Claire, Juneau and Vernon counties.

Farmers have eight months to apply for the loans. Farmers should contact their local USDA Farm Service Agency office for more information on loan eligibility and the application process.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thanks for reading. Subscribe or log in to continue.